My Friend is Dying

Kiwi in Toronto
4 min readMay 23, 2024

Her 13 year battle with cancer is coming to an end and it sucks that I am losing a wonderful friend.

https://www.elitedaily.com/lifestyle/pink-sky-sunset-caption

We were great friends in our early 20’s. She was the best friend to have. So kind and always there for me. She was a teacher and I use to spend lots of time with her in a little town where she lived across the road from the school she taught at.

She was a fabulous teacher. The kids loved her and when I was around she would involve me in what she was doing with her students. She was a born teacher and when she gave it up I thought, what a big loss to the teaching profession.

During the holidays we would jump in her car and go lots of places, hiking, camping or staying with other friends or family. Those times remain etched in my memory. She was one of those laid back people who just went with the flow. Nothing was ever to much of a problem and she was always generous with her time.

As we got older we moved further apart to different towns. She met someone and got married and I eventually went off to university.

With social media we reconnected although by that time I was getting married and I was moving to Canada with my husband. We still kept in touch via Facebook but we had not seen each other in person for years.

--

--

Kiwi in Toronto

Kiwi import to Canada, I may be over 50 but I'm not dead yet. I still have things to say.